The Provincial Instructor Diploma Program

I am currently taking my final course in the Provincial Instructor Diploma Program (PIDP).

As I near the end of my courses and prepare to begin my final capstone project, I have reflected on what I learnt from each.

PIDP 3100: Foundations of Adult Education

I determined what learning theory I most identify with, the constructivist learning theory. The constructivist learning theory is made up of a variety of perspectives, all concluding that learning comes from the learners understanding of their own experiences (Merriam & Bierema, 2013, p. 52). It is based on the view that the learner will build their own understanding based on their personal experiences, rather than emulate what they are told (Willis, 2009, p. 63). I believe it is important to recognize learners prior learning and help them make connections to what they already know. 

PIDP 3210: Curriculum Development

I had practice designing course curriculum and used templates that I still use today.  It was a good to go through the process of mapping out how topics flow throughout the entire course.

PIDP 3220: Delivery of Instruction

It was great to get practice delivering lessons to a live audience and get their feedback.  It gave me an opportunity to push myself and present something I normally wouldn’t, such as using humor.  It was encouraging to get positive feedback on what I delivered and confirm that I have skills as an instructor.  It can be tricky to deliver a lesson under a time crunch, so it gave me good experience.

PIDP 3230: Evaluation of Learning

I found the exercise of creating an exam very valuable.  The process of mapping out how marks are allocated and ensuring they are distributed evenly was more complicated than I expected.  The use of a table really helped with to ensure that the exam was measuring what I intended.

PIDP 3240: Media Enhanced Learning

This was my first time creating an info-graphic and I found it a great experience.  It gave me the opportunity to get creative and practice different design techniques.  I also had the opportunity to create an instructional video in which I used an app to play around with slide transition and speed of the video.

PIDP 3250: Instructional Strategies

After this course I was able to start compiling a list of instructional strategies for me to reference later.

PIDP 3260: Professional Practice

I am nearing the end of my professional practice course and so far I am enjoying it.  I have learnt how to examine an ethical dilemma and what to consider.  I went through Kidders 9 step process of evaluating an ethical dilemma, which helped me focus my thinking and realise some situations are not as simple as they might initially seem.

Overall, I think after completing my instructors diploma, I will be a more well rounded instructor.  Knowing the theory of adult education will help me evaluate different situations are determine what approach would work best.  I would equate the knowledge I have gained to what I learnt from my pastry training certificate, I can throw ingredients into a bowl and come up with a cake, but with the knowledge I have gained I can produced a much more moist and tasty cake.

Reference

Merriam, S.B., & Bierema, L.L. (2013). Adult Learning: Linking Thoery and Practices. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass

Willis, J. (2009), Constructivist Instructional Design (C-ID): Foundations, Models, and Examples. Charlotte, N.C.: Information Age Publishing

Leave a Reply

